澳大利亚赛区冠军

Christopher Esber 赢得 2013/14 年度澳大利亚地区决赛

设计师简介

- 分享到 -

这位年轻的悉尼设计师已准备好征战全球

 

后起之秀

曾经,他在澳大利亚时装界引起一阵风暴:在 2012 年澳大利亚时装周的首度独自亮相当属当届时装周最令人陶醉的时装展。现在,Christopher Esber 的下一步将是征服世界。

“(创作过程中)我没有固定的准则,每一季我都不会尊崇固定的规则。” Christopher Esber说。

在一个暖如夏日的冬日午后,Esber 被宣布成为 2013/14 年度国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP)的澳大利亚赛区冠军。这位年轻设计师已整装待发,准备好在 2014 年 2月 前往米兰参加 国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP)全球总决赛,这是他要打入全球市场的第一步。

纽约摄影师及著名时尚博客《The Sartorialist》博主 Scott Schuman ,曾作为大赛评委造访悉尼,以求在全球各个角落挖掘最佳设计天才。

“一直吸引我的,是年轻设计师们对自己所做事情的热情,在我看来这是纯真的表现。”Schuman 说。在宣布 5 万澳元地区大奖奖金得主之前,Schuman 首先作为导师会见了八组决赛选手。他给新晋选手的建议是:“不要探究为什么他们适合时装行业,而应该探究‘是什么让他们变得特别,为什么他们的作品值得受到大众关注。’”

 

 

 
 

羊毛妙计

Esber 以结构西装为灵感的羊毛作品成功地吸引了 Schuman、《Harper’s BAZAAR》总编 Kellie Hush、《VOGUE 澳大利亚》总编 Edwina McCann、Lock 集团首席执行官 Simon Lock,以及 David Jones 百货店女装部总经理 Sophie Clark 的关注。

“Esber 巧妙地运用了老式裁剪和针织工艺,并将其与新工艺相结合,为羊毛织品指明了新的方向。”Schuman 说,“羊毛的地位应远不止当前的现况,它在未来将变得更加重要。”Schuman 补充道。

“对我来说,亲力亲为非常重要,(否则)就感觉灵魂会丢失。”——Christopher Esber

去往米兰,与另外四组地区决赛选手争夺 10 万澳元的终极奖金,这对 Esber 而言是极其漫长的。 他只有几个月的时间来设计并制作出参赛用的美丽诺羊毛作品。

总决赛的获胜作品将进入包括 Harvey Nichols(伦敦)、Saks Fifth Avenue(纽约)、10 Corso Como(米兰)、Joyce(中国)、David Jones(澳大利亚)和 My Theresa(德国)等全球最顶级的零售商的实体柜台及其网上商店进行销售。

2013/14 年度国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP),亚洲和中东赛区的加入使得IWP 真正实现了对新晋设计人才的全球性搜寻,而对于 Esber 而言,这是一次向全世界展示他的作品的绝佳机会。

“我一直想要成为一位全球设计师,”他说。“这是让我梦想成真的第一步。” 

 

猜你喜欢

Christoper Esber

Christopher Esber wins 2013/14 Australia regional event

Designer Profile

- Share -

The young Sydney designer gets set to take on the world.

 

Rising star

He’s already taken the Australian fashion industry by storm—his solo debut in 2012 was arguably the most buzzed-about show of Australian Fashion Week—and now Christopher Esber’s next move is world domination.

“I don’t have a formula [for the creative process], I don’t go by a set rule each season.”Christopher Esber

On a winter’s afternoon balmy enough to pass for summer in many parts of the planet, Esber was announced as the winner of the Australian regional 2013/14 International Woolmark Prize (IWP). The young designer is bound for the IWP finals in Milan in February 2014, the first step in an ambition to take his aesthetic to a global audience.

New York-based photographer and blogger Scott Schuman, aka The Sartorialist, visited Sydney as a regional judge for the award, which aims to unearth the best design talent from every corner of the earth.

“The thing that always attracts me is the almost naïve passion [young designers] have for what they do,” says Schuman. In the lead up to announcing the winner of the $50,000 regional award, Schuman took on a mentor role, meeting with each of the eight finalists. His advice? For emerging talent to discover not why they fit into the fashion industry but “what makes them special—why they deserve to have people look at their work.”

 

 

 
 

A way with wool

For Esber, adopting wool product innovations for his deconstructed suits enthralled Schuman and fellow judges Kellie Hush, editor-in-chief Harper’s BAZAAR; Edwina McCann, editor-in-chief Vogue Australia; Simon Lock, CEO, The Lock Group; and Sophie Clark, general manager womenswear at department store David Jones.

“The nominees did an amazing job of using old-school techniques of tailoring and knitting, and marrying them with new technologies pointing a new direction for wool,” Schuman said. “Wool can be a fabric that is not just something that we have lived in all our lives but something that is going to be very important in the future,” Schuman said.

“For me, it’s really important to have my hand throughout everything, [otherwise] there’s a sense of soul that gets lost.”- Christopher Esber

The road to Milan—competing against four other regional finalists for the ultimate AUD$100,000 prize—is a long one for Esber. He has just months to design and construct a capsule collection made entirely of Merino wool.

The winning collection will be stocked in the world’s most prestigious retailers including Harvey Nichols (London), Saks Fifth Avenue (New York), 10 Corso Como (Milan), Joyce (China), David Jones (Australia), My Theresa (Germany) and online.

With the 2013/14 competition expanding into the Asia and Middle East region, the IWP is a truly global search for fresh design talent and, for Esber, an opportunity to showcase his work to the world. 

“I’ve always wanted to be an international designer, relevant across the globe,” he says. “This is the first step in making those dreams come true.”

 

 

You may also like