美国决赛选手

Altuzarra 赢得 2013/14 美国区赛事 

设计师简介

- 分享到 -

从巴黎到纽约,他经营着全球最好的时装店 

 

文化冲突

“每个人都有自我成就、自我教育和自我发现的经历,”同名品牌及法国时装店 Balenciaga 创意总监 Alexander Wang 说。

“我一直对衣服如何与人生活很感兴趣……人和衣服一起变老,和衣服一起生活,是什么样的感觉呢?”Joseph Altuzarra

对于 Joseph Altuzarra 而言,这段经历始于巴黎,这个他出生的地方,他的母亲是一位美籍华人,父亲是法国人。现居纽约的 Altuzarra 的混合文化及创造性的传承——他曾练习芭蕾,并钟爱美术和电影——在他作为时装设计师的每一件作品中得以完美呈现。

在纽约的工业工作室,Wang 和其他国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP)评委期盼寻找一个有高度审美观的设计师——而 Altuzarra 就凭借一件端庄的美丽诺羊毛连衣裙和羊毛鞋一举夺魁。

“如果你是一位年轻的新晋设计师,那么最重要的就是要有独一无二的见地,以及一种自我意识,这一点在纽约尤其重要,”Wang 说。“你自己 -- 你要讲的故事,和你要面对的观众 -- 是你拥有的唯一的东西。”

 
 

与命运有约

对 Altuzarra 而言,尽管他有芭蕾学习经历和多元化背景,但成为一位时装设计师似乎是一种必然。 

“这一直都是一种必然,我早就知道它就是我所热爱的职业,是我想做的事业。”他说。

同样必然的,是 Altuzarra 会进入时装界的顶层:这位年轻的设计师曾在 Proenza Schouler 和 Givenchy 的 Riccardo Tisci 实习。从美国区 IWP 大奖赛中胜出只会让他的国际经验变得更深厚。

“能够帮助像 Altuzarra 这样具有创新见解的设计师获得更大的成功是一件很棒的事情,”Wang 的评委同仁,美国时装设计师协会(CFDA)首席执行官 Steven Kolb 说。“国际羊毛标志大奖旨在培养新一代人才,识别及认可年轻设计师,并帮助他们获得提升。”

在领取地区性大奖时,Altuzarra 说他十分激动: “我感觉好像我们已经十分了解如何利用羊毛。我感到非常荣幸。” 

他将在 2014 年 2 月前往米兰,并已经为此创作了美丽诺羊毛作品,希望能够在 IWP 总决赛中一举击败其他四位全球决赛选手,夺得总冠军。

除 Wang 和 Kolb 之外,评委会成员还有 Saks Fifth Avenue 高级时装总监 Colleen Sherin、Calvin Klein 全球交流执行副总裁 Malcolm Carfrae、《W》杂志总编 Stefano Tonchi,以及《金融时报》时尚编辑 Vanessa Friedman

在米兰夺得桂冠的选手的作品将进入全球最顶级的零售商,包括 Harvey Nichols(伦敦)、Saks Fifth Avenue(纽约)、10 Corso Como(米兰)、Joyce(中国)、David Jones(澳大利亚)、My Theresa(德国及网上商店)的展柜

猜你喜欢

Altuzarra

Altuzarra wins 2013/14 USA regional event

Designer Profile

- Share -

From Paris to New York, via the world's finest fashion houses.

 

Culture clash

“Everyone has their own journey of how they get somewhere and how they educate themselves and how they discover themselves,” says Alexander Wang, creative director of French fashion house Balenciaga and his own eponymous label.

“I’m always very interested in how clothing lives with someone ... how they feel it’s aged with them and lived with them.” Joseph Altuzarra

For Joseph Altuzarra, that journey began in Paris where he was born to a Chinese-American mother and a French father. Now based in New York, Altuzarra’s mixed cultural and creative heritage—he once practiced ballet and has a keen interest in art and film—is woven throughout his work as a fashion designer.

Judging ten finalists at Industria studios in New York, Wang and his fellow International Woolmark Prize (IWP) judges were on the lookout for a designer with a well-developed aesthetic—and Altuzarra stood out from the competition with a ladylike Merino wool dress and wool shoes.

“It’s critically important to have a unique point of view, an identity and a sense of self when you are a young, emerging designer, especially in a landscape like New York,” Wang says. “It’s the only thing you have that is yourself: the story you have to tell and the audience you have to connect with.”

 
 

DATE WITH DESTINY

For Altuzarra, despite his ballet training and diverse background, becoming a fashion designer was something inevitable. 

“It was always a certainty, I always knew it was what I was passionate about and knew it’s what I really wanted to do,” he says.

What was also quite certain was that Altuzarra would rise to the pinnacle of the fashion industry: the young designer cut his teeth working with Proenza Schouler and Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci. Taking out the IWP award for the USA region will only see his international profile grow even further. 

"The opportunity to help a designer like Altuzarra with such creative vision to have greater success is incredible,” says Wang’s fellow judge Steven Kolb, CEO of the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA). “The International Woolmark Prize is about fostering a new generation of talent, recognising and celebrating young designers and playing a role in bringing them to the next level."

On being awarded the regional award, Altazurra said he was very excited: “I feel as though we’ve learned so much about working with wool. I feel very honoured.” 

The designer will head to Milan Fashion Week in February 2014, having created a capsule collection from Merino wool, hoping to beat four other global finalists to the AUD$100,000 IWP grand final prize.

Wang and Kolb were joined on the judging panel by Colleen Sherin, Senior Fashion Director of Saks Fifth Avenue; Malcolm Carfrae executive vice-president of global communications at Calvin Klein; W magazine editor-in-chief Stefano Tonchi; and Financial Times fashion editor Vanessa Friedman.

The winner crowned in Milan will see their capsule collection on the shelves of leading global fashion retailers including Harvey Nichols (London), Saks Fifth Avenue (New York), 10 Corso Como (Milan), Joyce (China), David Jones (Australia), and My Theresa (Germany and online).

You may also like