欧洲赛区冠军

Sibling 赢得 2013/14 欧洲地区决赛

设计师简介

- 分享到 -

这对英国组合名下有一家公司

 

亲如一家

他们或许没有血缘关系,但对这个设计师组合“Sibling”的成员 Joe Bates、Sid Bryan 和 Cozette McCreery 而言,他们亲如兄弟姐妹。

“当我们创作一件产品时,它其实是三个人的事。”McCreery 说,“这不是‘我’一个人的事,而是‘我们’的事。它是 Sibling 这个大家庭的事。

这个专注于针织服装设计的伦敦品牌赢得 2013/14 年度国际羊毛标志大奖(IWP)欧洲区域冠军似乎是一件板上钉钉的事。但 Missoni 创意总监、IWP 评委 Angela Missoni 解释说:“十组决赛选手其实不相上下,竞争相当激烈。”

“我们总是强调的讯息是,这是关于年轻、积极、有趣和正能量的。”Sid Bryan

“这些选手水平都很高,我们从中选出冠军异常艰难。”Missoni 说。“最后,我们选择了 Sibling,因为他们的品牌更完整、成熟,而他们对创新的追求结合了对羊毛和针织服装的了解,是胜出的关键因素。”

获胜设计是一套 Sibling 标志性的针织羊毛连体装和夹克,体现了青春活力、趣味性和乐观主义。

在米兰 Palazzo Crespi 宣布获胜者的除了 Missoni 之外,还有《VOGUE 意大利》和《L’Uomo Vogue》总编 Franca Sozzani、时尚评论员 Colin McDowell、《费加罗报》特约编辑 Godfrey Deeny、Style.com 特约编辑 Tim Blanks,以及 mytheresa.com 创始人 Susanne Botschen 等一众评委。

“今年的决赛水平很高,选手间难分伯仲。”Blanks 说。“但 Sibling 最终获胜,是因为他们创造了一股完美风暴:绝妙的工艺、疯狂的创新和对羊毛无尽潜力的诚挚欣赏。

 
 

通往米兰之路

在获得 5 万澳元地区奖金后,这个三人组将在明年回归米兰,与其他四组决赛选手一起角逐国际羊毛标志大奖全球总决赛,并在大奖赛的舞台上展示自己的得意之作。

“纯羊毛标志的声誉让我们倍感自豪,随着决赛在 2014 年 2 月的米兰时装周期间举行,我们将有机会进入意大利市场,向全球展示我们的作品。”设计师说,“赢得羊毛标志大奖欧洲地区决赛是对我们的美丽诺羊毛情结的肯定。”

“我们总有方法让一切皆有可能。” ——Cozette McCreery

他们还面临着为米兰决赛设计精品美丽诺羊毛系列作品的任务,他们也许已经确定了设计方向,但 Sibling 并未过多的透露关于作品设想的信息。

“我们从未尝试创造任何概念。”Bates 说,“我们发现,人们常常固执己见。”

“我们要做的,就是推倒这些界限。”Bryan 说。

获胜设计师带到米兰的系列作品将陆续在全球顶级的时尚商店陈列,包括Harvey Nichols(伦敦), Saks Fifth Avenue(纽约), 10 Corso Como(米兰), Joyce(中国), David Jones(澳大利亚)和 My Theresa(德国及网上商店)。

IWP旨在挖掘时尚界的明日之星,鼓励来自世界各地的新一代设计才俊—McDowell相信还有很多有才华的人等待被发现。

“这里有一个平台可以给个人表达自身有价值的声音,”McDowell说,“我们今天就有一位获胜者他拥有自己独特的声音。”

猜你喜欢

Sibling

Sibling wins 2013/14 Europe regional event

Designer Profile

- Share -

Three's company for this UK collective.

 

A FAMILY AFFAIR

They may not be related by blood, but as far as Joe Bates, Sid Bryan and Cozette McCreery—collectively known as SIBLING—are concerned, their connection goes just as deep. 

“When we produce a collection it’s to involve people,” says McCreery. “It’s not about the ‘I’, its about the ‘us’. It’s about Sibling, it’s about being a family.”

With a strong knitwear focus, the London-based label might seem an obvious choice to take out the European regional competition of the 2013/14 International Woolmark Prize (IWP), but Angela Missoni, creative director of Missoni and a member of the IWP judging panel, says the competition from the ten finalists was fierce.

"The message that we always end up putting out there is that it’s about a youthful, positive, fun energy." Sid Bryan

“The group of the nominees was of a very high level, and we struggled to take the decision,” said Missoni. “At the end, we decided for SIBLING because they demonstrated to be the more complete and mature label, and their creative research, joint with their knowledge of wool and knitwear, was the key factor.”

The winning design, a knitted wool bodysuit and jacket encapsulated the SIBLING signature DNA, a celebration of youthfulness, fun and optimism.

Announcing the win at Palazzo Crespi in Milan, Missoni was joined by fellow judges Franca Sozzani, Vogue Italy and L’Uomo Vogue editor-in-chief; fashion commentator Colin McDowell; Le Figaro editor-at-large Godfrey Deeny; Tim Blanks, Style.com editor-at-large, and Susanne Botschen, mytheresa.com founder.

“The level of talent this year was remarkable. The jury was faced with a real challenge,” agreed Blanks. “But SIBLING won because they created the perfect storm: stunning technique, a crazy level of creativity and a keen appreciation of wool’s endless potential.”

 
 

THE ROAD TO MILAN

After taking out the AUD$50,000 regional award, the trio will return to Milan next year in a bid to secure the international IWP ahead of four other finalists and to capitalise on the exposure the award has brought them.

“It’s the prestige of being associated to Woolmark what makes us happy, and the fact that, with the final event being held during Milan Fashion Week on February 2014, we will have the opportunity to approach the Italian market and reach a global exposure,” said the designers. “Winning the Woolmark European award is a recognition of our passion for Merino wool.”

“For us there’s always a way of making something possible.” Cozette McCreery

There is still the task of designing a capsule Merino wool collection for the Milan finals, but SIBLING gives little away in the direction they will take—assuming they themselves even know yet. 

“We try never to make a concept,” says Bates. “We found that people [are] almost dictatorial with their concepts.”

“It’s about pushing the boundaries,” Bryan says.

The collection taken to the Milan final by the winning designer will subsequently be stocked in the best fashion stores in the world: Harvey Nichols (London), Saks Fifth Avenue (New York), 10 Corso Como (Milan), Joyce (China), David Jones (Australia) and My Theresa (Germany and online).

The IWP aims to unearth the fashion stars of tomorrow and encourage a new generation of talent from all corners of the globe—and McDowell believes there is much out there to be discovered.

“There is still room for an individual to say something that is worthwhile,” declares McDowell. “We have a winner today which has a unique voice.”

You may also like