International Woolmark Prize 2015/16: Global Wrap

Six events, 20 countries, 67 labels, 12 winners: see our regionals recap of the world-renowned award for fashion design

Fashion News

- Share -

Go behind the scenes with the 2015/16 International Woolmark Prize, the border-crossing award known for highlighting emerging talent from around the globe.

Watch this space

This year the International Woolmark Prize travelled to six regions: Asia; Australia; British Isles; Europe; India, Pakistan and Middle East; and USA. After scouring the world for fashion’s most exciting rising talents, six menswear labels have been selected to compete in the finals to be held in Florence in January, and six womenswear labels have been chosen to go through to the women’s finals in New York in February 2016.

The finalists represent the twelve names to know in fashion right now. In menswear: Munsoo Kwon (Asia); P.Johnson (Australia); Agi & Sam (British Isles); Jonathan Christopher (Europe); Suketdhir (India, Pakistan and Middle East); Siki Im (USA). For womenswear: J Koo (Asia); Bianca Spender (Australia); Teatum Jones (British Isles); Nanna van Blaaderen (Europe); Taller Marmo (India, Pakistan and Middle East); Tanya Taylor (USA).

Calling on esteemed judging panels that included some of the most celebrated fashion identities worldwide, the awards saw Calvin Klein Collection Women’s Creative Director Francisco Costa, acclaimed menswear designer John Varvatos, American fashion designer Thom Browne and British-based designer Osman Yousefsada lending their clout.

The chosen finalists will now be required to develop a capsule collection in Merino wool to showcase the fibre’s unique natural properties and creative potential. Each will have a chance to win the coveted International Woolmark Prize, the victors being awarded AU$100,000 and the opportunity to be stocked in the most important retailers around the world.

You may also like