Emerging fashion’s best and brightest

Introducing the finalists of the International Woolmark Prize for 2016/17

Fashion News

- Share -

75 designers, 25 countries, 6 regional events… the International Woolmark Prize’s reputation as one of the world’s most significant emerging fashion design initiatives is matched only by the sheer scope of its inclusivity.

Following regional events held in Hong Kong, Milan, Mumbai, New York, London and Sydney, this year’s twelve finalists – representing the menswear and womenswear categories of the prize – have been announced, as selected by esteemed panels of judges that has included André Leon Talley, Jason Wu, Rachel Roy, Neil Barrett and Gordon Richardson. Having each been awarded a financial contribution of AU$50,000, the designers will spend the coming few months working with respected industry mentors to develop a six-look capsule collection made of Australian Merino wool to be presented at the global finals, held in London and Paris in January 2017. Herewith, the finalists vying for the prize.

MÜNN – Asia
Ex Infinitas – Australia & New Zealand
COTTWEILER – British Isles
Tonsure – Europe
Bounipun – India, Pakistan and the Middle East
Rochambeau – United States

TOTON – Asia
macgraw – Australia & New Zealand
Faustine Steinmetz – British Isles
Tim Labenda – Europe
Nachiket Barve – India, Pakistan and the Middle East
Gabriela Hearst – United States

You may also like