英国最具人气个人时装博客 对国际羊毛标志大奖的报道

时尚博主Susie Lau为2013/14年度羊毛标志大奖撰文

秀场

- 分享到 -

每天,全球都有数以万计的读者登陆 《Style Bubble》 阅读人气博主 Susie Lau 的时尚感言。这位博主来自伦敦,已拥有粉丝无数,他们通常在博主发博数秒内即做出响应。她是业界最早被认可的时尚博主之一。

2013/14 年度国际羊毛标志大奖赛颁奖典礼现场, Susie Lau 坐在首排,为我们撰写了以下这篇报道。

灰姑娘的故事

一段童话般的故事在今年的国际羊毛标志大奖赛决赛中发生,之前不被看好的选手在决赛中出人意料一举夺魁,这般逆袭让观众和评委都惊叹不已。

来自全球五个区域的选手,齐聚一堂,各施奇技展示如何将美丽诺羊毛处理、加工成为一件件艺术品。

看来自欧洲赛区的三人组合 Sibling 展示过去一年数字化趋势如何攻城拔地,您会无法自拔地被 Lucian Freud 的像素化画像所吸引,领略钩针如何遇上机械编织以及苏格兰费尔岛的精益求精。 

代表澳洲赛区的,是后起之秀 Christopher Esber。他巧妙地为羊毛面料添加绉绸,利用卓越的发泡印花工艺,营造出水风筒式的褶裥和曼妙的立体效果。 

代表亚洲赛区的,是由 Kain Picken 和 Fiona Lau 组成的二人组合 ffiXXed,他们的作品以地毯为创意灵感,巧妙地利用羊毛在服装中美观性和舒适性间的平衡,以系列羊毛女装惊艳在座。

毫无疑问,决赛选手里最为知名的要数来自美国赛区的 Joseph Altuzarra,他的巧妙针织纹理和受希区柯克电影女主角所启发的款式设计让观众和评委印象深刻。坦白讲,业内很多人认为 Altuzarra 获奖是板上钉钉的事。

代表印度及中东地区参赛的 Rahul Mishra 带着他美丽的针织服装进入赛场,讲述了一个自然和现代生活相结合的故事。在他错综复杂的羊毛刺绣中,城市风光和莲花完美邂逅。它是羊毛,但又并非你所熟知的那样。由 Angelica Cheung、Frida Giannini、Tim Blanks、Franca 和 Carla Sozzani 以及 Sarah Andelman 组成的评委会被深深折服。 Mishra 对于时尚的信仰在他的三个“E”中得到完美体现——环境 (Environment)、就业(Employment) 和赋权 (Empowerment)。当说到业界需要对生产模式的影响进行监督时,评委们再一次被深深触动。 

当评委 Tim Blanks 问道,获奖对于他意味着什么的时候,Mishra双目噙泪用力地说到,“意味着一切!”但 Mishra 感人的故事并不是关键,关键是他所制作的衣服及其巧妙的工艺。Mishra 的作品将于今年八月在 Saks Fifth Avenue、10 Corso Como、Harvey Nichols 和 Colette 等名店内上架。顾客才是 Mishra 作品的最终评价者,他们一定会感受到这个特别系列背后所倾注的爱和心血。

猜你喜欢

Style bubble reports

Fashion blogger Susie Lau reports on the IWP 2013/14

Runway

- Share -

On a daily basis, tens of thousands of readers around the world log on to Style Bubble to read the musings of fashion blogger Susie Lau. The London-based blogger has won the hearts of fans who respond to her posts within seconds and she was one of the first fashion bloggers to be recognised by the industry.

Sitting front row at the 2013/14 International Woolmark Prize, Susie writes exclusively for Merino.com about the fashion award.

 

THE CINDERELLA STORY

A fairytale unfolded at the International Woolmark Prize final this year, as the underdog came up trumps and took away the grand prize, surprising both the audience and the jury. 

From the five regions of the world, came a diverse showcase of how Merino wool could be used, treated and crafted.

The rambunctious trio behind Sibling, representing Europe, looked at how the digital world was encroaching on yesteryear and you couldn't help but be charmed by the pixelated Lucian Freud portraits, crochet meets machine-knit meets make-do-and-mend and Scottish Fair Isle. 

Representing Australia was rising star Christopher Esber, who happed upon a puff print relief effect, over which he placed wool crepe to create trompe l'oeil drapes. 

From Asia, are duo ffiXXed, designed by Kain Picken and Fiona Lau, who looked to the domestic comfort of lounging around on rugs to create a collection of glitch pattern knits with witty touches like cushion clutches.  

Undoubtedly the most well-known of the finalists was Joseph Altuzarra, representing the USA, who impressed with his finessed needle punched tactile textures and Hitchcock heroine-inspired silhouettes.  It's fair to say that many in the industry had Altuzarra pegged for the prize. 

Then Rahul Mishra, representing India and the Middle East, walked in with his line-up of beautifully embroidered dresses, telling a tale of nature connecting with modern day life.  Cityscapes met lotus flowers in the most intricate of fine wool ombre embroidery.  It was wool but not as you know it, and the jury, made up of Angelica Cheung, Frida Giannini, Tim Blanks, Franca and Carla Sozzani and Sarah Andelman were all bowled over.  Mishra's belief in fashion giving back through his three E's - environment, employment and empowerment - also impressed a jury at a time, when the industry needs to monitor the repercussions of its mode of production. 

When Blanks asked Mishra what it would mean for him to win this prize, Mishra fought back the tears to say emphatically, "It would mean everything".  The moving story behind Mishra wasn't the deal-clincher though.  It was down to the clothes and the way they have been crafted.  Mishra's collection will be stocked at stores such as Saks Fifth Avenue, 10 Corso Como, Harvey Nichols and colette come August this year.  The final judge of Mishra's work will be the customer, who no doubt will feel the love and labour put into this very special collection.

You may also like